Home / News / NDPHC Set to Implement NIPP Phase II

NDPHC Set to Implement NIPP Phase II

The Niger Delta Power Holding Company Limited (NDPHC), owners of the National Integrated Power Projects (NIPP), is set to implement the phase 11 project that will centre on generation from hydro plants as against the Phase 1 that operates on thermal plants. The choice of hydro power is part of the diversification of sources of power supply, especially in the face of the rampant pipeline vandalism.
Yakubu Lawal, General Manager, Communication and Public Relations, NDPHC, said the Board approved the implementation of the new structure, which was proposed at its meeting in August, last year.
Under the new structure, he said the company has four executive directors to head generation, networks; finance and accounts and corporate services departments. He added that the office of the Company Secretary/Legal Adviser has been upgraded to a director’s status.
Mr. James Abiodun Olotu retains his position as Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer and the head of the new structure, he said.
Lawal also dismissed in situations that the Board made the appointments ahead of May 29 swearing in of the new government to avoid changes.
He said the report could cast aspersions on the integrity, credibility and competence of the chairman and directors of the NDPHC.
According to him, the National Economic Council (NEC) in April 2013 approved the execution of the second phase of the NIPP projects, which comprise Mambilla hydro power project and 16 other identified medium and small hydro power projects to create a mix of power generation/supply system for the country.
The Phase 1 NIPP projects have 10 new thermal power stations in the south.
The second phase will contribute about 4,000 megawatts (MW) to the national grid. It has some critical transmission projects, which are expected to wheel power from the existing and new power stations as it has the capacity to wheel over 20,000MW to the power distribution chain. The projects are being assembled.
According to the report presented to the Board of NDPHC, four power stations in the NIPP Phase One have been inaugurated by President Jonathan.
They include Geregu II, 434mw capacity in Kogi state, Omotosho II, 500 MW capacities in Ondo state, 750MW capacity Olorunsogo II power plant in Ogun State and Phase One 504MW Alaoji thermal power station in Abia State. But Benin Generation Company and Ogorode with 450MW capacity each in Edo and Delta states are awaiting opening.
Other projects for completion are the 21.5km gas pipeline Creek town to Ikot Nyong power plant; 18km Ikot Nyong-Adiabo 330kV DC lines to evacuate power from Calabar power plant in Cross River State; completion of 13km 132kv DC Adiabo – Calabar 132/33kV substation and reinforcement of this Calabar 132/33kV substation with 1no 60MVA 132/33kV transformer and bays to accommodate new lines from Adiabo; completion of the upgrading of Jos 330/132/33kV substation with 1no 150MVA transformer, 1No 75MVA reactor and new 330 and 132kV bays provision to accommodate new lines in and out of Jos 330kV substation.
Others due for completion are the 286Km 330kv DC Jos-Makurdi transmission line; new Makurdi 330/132/33kv substation; 222km 330kV DC transmission line Geregu-Lokoja-Gwagwalada, linking NIPP power plant at Geregu to FCT, 2x150MVA 330/132/33kV transformer substation at Gwagwalada in Abuja with a further 90km of both 330kV and 132kV lines to reach Katampe and Apo 330/132/33kV substations in Abuja, among projects.

About Gladys Johnson

Gladys Johnson The Publisher/Editor-In-Chief Global Business Drive Phone: +13465619347 Email: info@globalbusinessdrive.com gladysjohnsonmedia@gmail.com gladys@globalbusinessdrive.com globalbusinessdrive@gmail.com

Check Also

Access Bank Joins NGX to Launch Impact Board

Access Bank Plc, Nigeria’s leading institution in sustainable finance, was one of the participants in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

pub-5127930111112337, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0