Home / Business / Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients Named for the OTC Golden Anniversary Gala Dinner 2019

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients Named for the OTC Golden Anniversary Gala Dinner 2019

The 2019 Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) will recognize Carlos Mastrangelo with the Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals and the ExxonMobil-operated Hebron Offshore Project with the OTC Distinguished Achievement Award for Companies, Organizations, and Institutions. Recipients will be awarded at the 2019 OTC Golden Anniversary Gala Dinner being held Sunday, 5 May at the Downtown Houston Marriott Marquis.

Founded in 1969, OTC will be celebrating its Golden Anniversary in 2019 with an impressive speaker lineup of CEO- and other senior-level speakers at the opening general session. Throughout the event, global industry leaders will discuss new licensing and business opportunities and recently introduced technologies along with an expanded technical program to include marine renewables. OTC’s large international participation provides excellent opportunities for global sharing of technology, expertise, products, and best practices that address current and future conditions of offshore developments.

OTC Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals

Carlos Mastrangelo will be awarded the Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals for his pioneering efforts to establish the worldwide usage of floating production, storage, and offloading units (FPSOs). He has been engaged in FPSO activities since the 1980s. In the 1990s Mastrangelo worked with the Brazilian Navy, Port Authorities, and Class Societies towards the standardization and development of regulations for fully classed FPSOs. He is also credited for establishing the basis for Petrobras’ leased unit contract that is still in effect today. In the early 2000s, the US industry was relatively untouched by the FPSO market. Mastrangelo supported the US government agencies in their environmental impact study and risk analysis to evaluate the use of FPSOs in the US GoM. In 2006, Mastrangelo started leading Petrobras’ effort to define the strategy for the first FPSO and the first purpose-built Jones Act shuttle-tanker in the US. His pioneering work and contribution to the industry paved the road for the introduction of the FPSOs in the USA and for the worldwide use of the FPSOs as can be seen today. Mastrangelo currently serves on the OTC Houston and OTC Brazil program committees and has authored and presented numerous papers on this topic. In 2005, the Brazilian Navy recognized his contribution to the offshore industry and the Society of Petroleum Engineers named him as the Engineer of the Year, in Brazil. In 2012, SPE named Carlos Mastrangelo as the recipient of the international award for this pioneering contribution that introduced FPSOs to the USA.

 Hoover Medal Recipient is David Baldwin

In coordination with ASME and other engineering societies, the Hoover Medal will be given to David Baldwin, co-President of SCF Partners, during the OTC Gala Dinner. The Hoover Medal recognizes outstanding extra-career services by engineers to humanity. A separate announcement about this award will be issued soon.

OTC Golden Anniversary Distinguished Achievement Awards Gala Dinner

The OTC Golden Anniversary Gala Dinner recognizes the OTC Distinguished Achievement Award recipients, raises funds for a worthy cause, and provides an excellent opportunity for industry leaders to network with colleagues from around the world.

About Gladys Johnson

Gladys Johnson The Publisher/Editor-In-Chief Global Business Drive Phone: +13465619347 Email: info@globalbusinessdrive.com gladysjohnsonmedia@gmail.com gladys@globalbusinessdrive.com globalbusinessdrive@gmail.com

Check Also

NNPC Ltd, JV Partners, NDDC Commission N24.5bn Ogbia-Nembe Road

As part of activities to mark the first anniversary of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s administration, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

pub-5127930111112337, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0