Home / Breaking News / DesignEuropa Awards finalists and Lifetime Achievement Award winner announced

DesignEuropa Awards finalists and Lifetime Achievement Award winner announced

Attend the DesignEuropa Awards - CLICKNL

  • Eight finalist designs were shortlisted, representing the best of European industrial and product design
  • The John Deere 8 Series tractors, a popular brand for tractors in the U.S., finalist in the Industry category
  • Lifetime Achievement Award winner is André Ricard, renowned for the torch design of the 1992 Barcelona Olympics
  • The ceremony will take place in Eindhoven, the Netherlands, on 19 October

The DesignEuropa Awards finalists in the Industry and Small and Emerging Companies categories are revealed today, along with the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award. The finalists come from 7 countries (Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, and the United States). They cover major brands such as Philips, John Deere, ASSA ABLOY, and Actiu and newcomers, such as StethoMe, MiniFinder, Relio², and Knister. They also represent a wide range of sectors, including healthcare, advanced engineering, automation, and access solutions, furniture, professional lighting, outdoor appliances, security, and IoT. All of them are setting new standards in the design industry.

Now in their third edition, the DesignEuropa Awards are organized by the European Union of Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) to give recognition to both products and their designers in industrial design.

The winners will be announced on 19 October 2021 at the awards ceremony in Eindhoven, which will also be live-streamed. During the ceremony, the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to one pioneer, and most influential industrial designer of our time, André Ricard.

The Executive Director of the EUIPO, Christian Archambeau, said:

The DesignEuropa Awards are an important opportunity for us to recognize not only the economic and practical affects of innovative designs but also their cultural impact. Besides the eight excellent finalists (in the Industry and Small and Emerging Companies categories), it is a privilege to recognize the many contributions of André Ricard through the Lifetime Achievement Award. His iconic designs have appeared in both the background and foreground of our lives since the 1960s, from perfume bottles to the Olympic torch. This illustrates just how design shapes every part of our lives and serves to inspire new creations from generation to generation.

The jury of the awards is led by Päivi Tahkokallio, a renowned Finnish designer and President of the Bureau of European Design Associations (BEDA). The other 11 jury members are drawn from the fields of design, business, and intellectual property. They are all recognized leaders in their respective areas of specialization and bring a wealth of expertise gained over the course of their professional careers.

The Lifetime Achievement Award winner: André Ricard

André Ricard, this year’s Lifetime achievement winner, is a highly influential figure and source of inspiration for Spanish and European design for generations of designers. His Copenhagen ashtray is considered a symbol of the 1960s. A perfume bottle he created in 1968 is still in production and sold all over the world. The Tatu lamp, designed in 1972, looks as modern now as it did back then. His majestic hanging lamps have graced the Reina Sofía Museum in Madrid for decades now. In 1992, his Olympic torch design shone a light on his home city of Barcelona and introduced him to an even wider audience.

The finalist designs: The Industry category recognizes outstanding designs from large and medium-sized businesses. The finalist designs in this category are:

SWEDEN: Aperio® H100 smart door handle (ASSA ABLOY Opening Solutions; designer: Mauro Menin)

THE NETHERLANDS: Philips IntelliVue X3 portable patient monitor (Koninklijke Philips N.V.; designers: Fabian Benedikter and Ceren Bagatar)

SPAIN: Talent desk system (Actiu Berbegal y Formas S.A.; designer: Marcelo Alegre)

USA: John Deere 8 Series tractors (Deere & Company; designers: Felix Nagelin, Brian Huenink, John W. Krieger, Eric Keen, Sebastian M. Himpel, Thorsten Hagner, Daniel J. Deboer, Martin Clay, Michael D. Kollath, Richard Knowels Jr, Thomas C. Boe, Charles Warren)

The Small and Emerging Companies category recognizes outstanding designs from small companies and from recently established companies, regardless of their size. The finalist designs in this category are:

GERMANY: Knister Grill (Knister GmbH; designer: Carolin Kunert)

SWEDEN: MiniFinder Nano personal safety alarm (MiniFinder Sweden AB; designer: Dean Maros)

ITALY: Relio² professional lighting system (Relio Labs s.r.l.; designer: Marco Bozzola)

POLAND: StethoMe® digital stethoscope (StethoMe sp z.o.o.; designer: Michał Bonikowski)

The awards pay tribute to designs that are protected as registered community designs (RCD). Managed by the EUIPO, the registered community design is a popular intellectual property (IP) valid in all EU Member States. The EUIPO has now received 1.5 million direct RCD filings since 2003 when it started administering this IP right.

The EU has a rich design tradition and is a world leader in industrial design. Design-intensive industries account for 30.7 million direct jobs and makeup 16.2 % of the EU’s total GDP. The United States is currently the third biggest filer of registered community designs. China and Germany top the list.


About Gladys Johnson

Gladys Johnson The Publisher/Editor-In-Chief Global Business Drive Phone: +13465619347 Email: info@globalbusinessdrive.com gladysjohnsonmedia@gmail.com gladys@globalbusinessdrive.com globalbusinessdrive@gmail.com

Check Also

Seplat Energy Becomes First Nigerian company to earn ISO 55001:2014 Asset Management System Certification

Seplat Energy Plc, a leading Nigerian independent energy company listed on both the Nigerian Exchange …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

pub-5127930111112337, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0